Stanley Discovery Museum


37-39 Church Street Stanley, Tasmania Australia 7331

The Stanley Museum contains a wealth of information relating to the history and families of the Stanley district and displays items of interest relative to the area. A photographic exhibition dating from 1858 follows the development of the settlement. History of the original 113 allotments and families are detailed in the publication “Along the Terrace” Vol 1, 1843-1922. “In the Shadow of the Nut” which was published to coincide with the present Stanley Primary School’s Centenary in 2014 also outlines education in Stanley from settlement and records the names of all students. Both publications are only available at the Museum. Local History Journals and publications and the DVD “Trading out of Stanley” are also available for sale.
Step back in time with local historical items including various displays and memorabilia.
Some of the items on display include antique bric-a-brac, photographic display, numerous household and farming utensils of settlement days, 1850 wedding gown, marine curios, relics from ships that once sailed in the area, mineral display, shell collection and paintings by renowned artist GJR Conolan. Open from September to May, 11am to 3pm daily, (could change due to COVID restrictions) it is possible to access the Museum by appointment outside of opening hours, by arrangement.

Inidicative Rates

$0.50 - $4.00

Contact for more information

Phone:
0428 581 285

Email:
stanleydiscoverymuseum@gmail.com

Facilities found here

  • Coach Parking
  • Gallery / Museum
  • Non Smoking
  • Public Toilet

Where to find
Stanley Discovery Museum


37-39 Church Street Stanley, Tasmania Australia 7331